Main Site

First Album

What was the first album y’all guys listened to?

It was “To Be Kind” the first album that i listened to entirely in 2015.

and i know i am still a newbie in the music world but it’s alright. and since then i listen to only highly rated albums on that site. i think i don’t want to listen to the low rated ones because i don’t want to waste any damn time.

Now, i got into music a little bit and made a last.fm account and listening.

so what’s your tips for me do i discover new artists or just stick with only the highest rated?

I just want any tips from y’all on what to do in this summer with me having a lot of time to listen because i hear about genres and artists and great albums that i never heard before.

i spent my last 2 years listening to swan, kendrick, kanye. sufjan and ETC…

but now i just want more and more…

and i am not any close to all of your countries…i come from far far away, so even the legendary artists are unknown for me.

so should i go back to old records and old artists or keep up with the new ones?

4 Likes

The Verve - Urban Hymns

In 1997 when i was 2 year old

1 Like

I was exactly like you when I first made an account on AOTY lol, kind of nice to read. What I did was go back to old ‘classic’ albums as much as I could and only listen to contemporary stuff that got high ratings, unless I knew the artist and was intrigued. Watch theneedledrop of course even though he can be a bit of a dick sometimes he has gotten me into a lot of really great artists. Also, the feature on the site that allows you to see the highest user or critic albums of each year is beneficial to use. To be honest I still have so many old albums I need to check out but I think it will always be like that because there is just soooo much great music to listen too.

Just looking at your account now I wouldn’t say you were that much of newbie anyway you have a fair amount of pretty great albums rated, you’re on the right path.

4 Likes